The Kinked Hose

Constipation and Migraines

Posted in Uncategorized by Philosimphy on September 5, 2009

Is the medical establishment’s continued denial that constipation CAUSES migraines merely a way to keep people paying for medications that may or more likely may not ease the pain? How many off-label prescriptions are written for migraine sufferers for medicines that aren’t actually for treating migraine pain? How much revenue comes from those prescriptions? If people knew that more fiber and the occasional laxative when needed could end much of the misery of migraines they would no longer need to take expensive medications to treat the migraine pain. No, I don’t mean that every migraine is caused by constipation but I suspect many are.

 

The term constipation here doesn’t necessarily mean constipation where you actively feel the need to poop but are unable – for people in whom constipation triggers a migraine it is usually an unnoticed constipation, and the onset of the migraine is often the first clue that there is any constipation at all.

 

Those who have migraines triggered by this constipation are absolutely positive that there is a connection. Further, they are positive that constipation causes migraines – that it’s not some sort of coincidence – it is NOT that constipation gives you “stress” and that stress in turn triggers a migraine, it’s the constipation itself that directly triggers the migraine.

 

If you suffer from migraines, or even just occasional severe headaches, start to pay attention to the way the pain changes before or after you poop. Sometimes elimination can trigger the migraine, (onset can happen very quickly, some have described the migraine forming before they finish their bowel movement) sometimes elimination can end the migraine (relief can begin immediately and the migraine is totally gone in about 20 minutes.)

 

How? Why? Nobody is really bothering to find out. And it’s a goddamn shame. My personal theory is that the poop is collecting and pressing against something that triggers the migraine… I suspect that if you shoved a pole up your ass and managed to hit the same spot you’d get yourself a whopper of a migraine in a matter of hours. Is it a biological reaction, merely a way our intestines tell us that it’s time to empty out, or tell us that we need to empty at least some out, in order to adjust whats in there into a more comfortable position?

 

Something to think about is acupuncture, or even just the way certain nerves trigger a feeling in a nerve nowhere near the nerve being stimulated. We’ve all scratched an itch and have felt a sensation somewhere else on our skin than where we are actually scratching, and then we have to move and start scratching the area where that “phantom” sensation occurred…

 

That is the general working of acupuncture and over thousands of years acupuncture points were mapped out, and the triggering or blocking of sensations through nerve stimulation was achieved. If you read about acupuncture you learn that the points where they, well, puncture you are believed to correspond to organs and systems inside the body.

 

I believe it is the same concept at work with this constipation migraine connection, that there is a pressure point of some sort inside us, and that this constipation in certain people pushes matter against the pressure point, and that pressure point sends sensations to the same receptors that give us headaches – the same way your fingernails scratching an itch on your arm can send a sensation to the bottom of your foot, which now requires scratching too.

 

An interesting Q&A on the subject here

 

And if you’re reading this, have you noticed this connection? And did you get here by specifically searching the phrase “constipation and migraines” because you already KNOW there is a connection and came here looking for evidence?

 

____________________________________________________________

Comments from original post:

republicofhealth said, on June 21, 2009 at 12:52 pm :

There is a connection between constipation and headaches but it’s not because there’s a pressure spot.

When you don’t cleanse waste properly there is a metabolic imbalance that is created. This leads to disease. If you don’t allow your body to cleanse waste, the toxins will enter back into your blood stream. The headache is your body’s way of telling you the need to get rid of waste build up.

So, if you get a headache it would help to take a laxative.

Keep up the good work.

_____________________________________________________

doctorblue said, on June 21, 2009 at 3:56 pm

The medical establishment and the many doctors I saw over my lifetime were all plagued with Seinfeld Syndrome or the inability to discuss unpleasantries, like fungus and poop. I am now disabled because no doctor could or would address the cause of my inability to have a bowel movement on my own from when I was a baby. I discovered in the last years that I have Hirschsprung’s disease, and am still searching for a knowledgable gastrointestinal surgeon. I still can’t understand how doctors can simply ignore two CT scan reports with, among other findings, that I have “a stool-filled colon.” I’ve lost count of the number of medical professionals who dismissed the reports by simply advising me to increase fiber intake and drink more water. If you have a kinked or blocked hose, no amount of water pressure is going to fix the problem. But doctors didn’t want to discuss the problem. Yes, I eat lots of fiber, drink gads of water and take supplements. I can have diarrhea and still need an enema. I must say none of the doctors were surgeons, so I guess, not being able to find a way of making money on my dilemma, they chose to ignore the issue rather than refer me to a surgeon. I’ve chronicled my experiences with doctors leading to my disability in a series of blogs at http://doctorblue.wordpress.com. Thanks for bringing the issue to the forefront.

==
AF said, on June 22, 2009 at 3:35 am

Both of these comments nail it. Sorry this reply is so long, but these comments got me thinking…

“The kinked hose” – That is such a perfect, absolutely perfect term for it. – and I imagine there are all kinds of ways that the hose could get kinked, some people say they’ve had the problem forever, some say it started after they had kids or after certain injuries (ha, the after-kids folks are usually women)

yes that must be why it’s not really a noticable traditional constipation – and why I, and the people I’ve heard from, will seem to have a blockage, but then for whatever reason – the blockage eases and out comes diarrhea (when I was little my mother used to call diarrhea “melted poo-poos” which I think is a wonderful term) and we are left wondering what was blocking that in the first place?

Personally, I’ve suspected for a long time that it’s a kinked hose that causes the constipation – suspected? no, I’ve been convinced for a long time, because I figured out how to unkink it adequately enough to ease my pain. And it was pain. It was not wanting to live. It was literally thinking that if the next 20 or 30 of my life was going to be constant back pain, inexplicable exhaustion, and terrible pounding headaches – I would rather have died. In fact, I feel as if I may have died, or would have become disabled myself, if things continued as they did ….

Which leads right into the previous comment posted… about the bodys signals that we need to get the waste out of us – the back pain, the tiredness, the headaches, these are all signals (and I know they are very clear and very loud signals)…. But if you go to the doctor and say “I have back pain and headaches, and I’m tired all the time, and Doc, I think it’s because I haven’t been able to poop so good.” they start listing off the reasons why your suspicions are wrong… they go about treating the back pain, or the headache and tell you that your ass problem is a result of the backache. When it’s so COUNTERINTUITIVE it’s ridiculous.

It simply makes more sense that for whatever reason, and I’ll be explicit here: If your tubes are of packed full of shit that won’t come out, after long enough it starts causing trouble and it results in excessive pressure against your lower back. It makes less sense that your back just decided to slowly get stiff and painful for some other reason and because your back hurts your shit is stuck. Add to that how we can actually tell the doctor that the pain is significantly reduced immediately if we are able to go poop. And the doctors still don’t believe it. Do they want to come live with us for a month and watch as we contort and probe ourselves in order to unkink our hoses before they will trust that we know what we are talking about. Sienfeld Syndrome indeed!

The only way I figured out that my headaches were because of my “kinked hose” was because I had the back pressure/pain problem first, and the headaches started slowly. My back slowly became tight and stiff, I was always contorting, trying to stretch it or make it snap out of the stiffness, I started to notice how sometimes I couldn’t seem to get any poop out, then because I was noticing, I realized that I was only getting on average one tiny poop per week. I started to suspect that my lack of pooping had something to do with my back problems. Then slowly the headaches started. I’d have one every couple months or so, they were pounding whoppers and I didn’t think they were related to my back or my poops because it wasn’t as if the back pain got any worse or anything else changed as the headache came on. Then they came more often. I’d have to go to sleep because of my pounding head, sometimes I would sleep for 12 hours, wake up, and within the first 10 minutes awake the headache would start again, and after a few hours I’d go back to sleep for another 8 hours. And the sleep was natural, I was so tired all the time, when I absolutely shouldn’t have been tired.

One day I found myself literally “shuffling” to the kitchen for something. Slowly shuffling like I was an 80 year old – Shuffling because if felt like my back was encased in a slowly hardening glue, and my head pounded – the light hurt, sounds hurt, and I was so so so tired down to my bones… and I knew something was seriously, life-or-death style seriously wrong. I thought, one of these days, I’m not going to be able to wake up at all anymore. That’s when I thought not waking up might be better if I had to live through more of whatever was happening to me.

And then a friend brought me some laxative suppositories and insisted I try them, and it completely reversed everything. And I should note that these symptoms, the backache, exhaustion, and headaches – they developed slowly over 3 or 4 years before I got to the point where I felt like walking death, and after I started using the suppositories and really investigating what my body needed – within a couple of months I was feeling about 80% better…. It still happens, my shit still doesn’t want to come out, but I learned how to make it come out, I’m still learning, and sometimes I still get a headache or a stiff back, but I know where it’s coming from, and I am able to mostly stop the pain. Sometimes I still get a headache that will last for a couple of days, but they aren’t as severe as they used to be, and they go away once I’m able clear stuff out – and I suspect those headaches may also be tied to menstruation in my case.

====doctorblue said, on June 23, 2009 at 8:15 pm

AF, I’ve been there too — feeling so bad you think it might not be such a bad thing if you didn’t wake up. I just wanted to add one more analogy to explain what I think is going on in our bodies when it’s not functioning properly.

Think of what happens to that baked lasagna that you put in the refrigerator and forgot about — for months. It starts growing things like fungus and bacteria. The same thing happens in our intestines with undigested food. As we get older, our pancreas stops efficiently making the enzymes we need to properly digest certain proteins, etc. When this happens, our intestines develop enterotoxins that circulate throughout the body wreaking havoc with free radicals and oxidation, etc. This leads to “leaky gut” syndrome and malabsorption…Bacteria begins to grow in the tissues and impinges on the nerves which tightens the muscles, particularly around the spine. That leads to back pain. I know because this is what happened and is still happening to me. And don’t let me forget to add that your arteries are clogging with plaque from all the debris, inflammation and infection the whole time.

Doctors don’t have a clue, so they take your money for a referral to another doctor and some tests. This pattern repeats until you stop going to doctors.

Now being disabled, I’ve done a wealth of research on my own and through supplementation, enemas and laxatives, I’m working on unclogging my veins, detoxing and trying to correct nutritional imbalances. Until I can clear my partial obstruction through surgery and get the IV antibiotics and antifungals I need to fight my infections, it’s a losing battle.

At least there is some conciliation in knowing what is wrong with you and what it will take to get better. It’s frustrating not being able to get any medical professionals to understand the same, however.

_____________________________________________________

Jet said, on August 20, 2009 at 3:33 pm
I found this article when googling the opposite idea that my migraines make me poop a lot. To me this makes total sense and I feel there is a definite connection as well. Unfortunately, like you said, I don’t actively feel constipated before the onset of the migraine. I actually feel like I have very regular movements. However, when I get a bad migraine I will have to go to the bathroom a TON. I have sometimes noticed an almost immediate relief of the migraine after. Other times I can feel a change after, but not enough and I will continue to suffer. It makes me feel like my body has something toxic in it that it needs to get rid of. I can’t figure out if it was something I ate like too much red meat or anything else or if it is just a general build up.

Honestly, I’ve never taken a laxative and might be afraid to do that while simultaneously suffering from a migraine. Just might be too much to deal with at once. I think drinking more water might help a lot of people too.

Thanks for the article and for making me feel like I’m not alone in this!

_____________________________________________________

Walt said, on August 28, 2009 at 4:58 am

I got here by googling “headaches caused by being full of poop”. These are not from being constipated, I actually have very regular movements. But when I get this kind of headache there is one of two reasons, 1. caffeine withdrawal (about 1 every year) or 2. full of poo (about 2-3 a month). After going to the john my headache will ease and usually fade quickly with help of 2 naproxin and a glass of water.

The fact that being full of shit causes me a major headache is without a doubt, and has been for 20+ years. It will sneak up on me because I never feel constipated before I get the headache. This happens to me a couple of times a month. Not a problem for me but I’ve always been curious why this occurs. I guessed built up toxins but that guess is just a guess.

 

End of original post and comments

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] Constipation and Migraines « The Kinked Hose said, on September 5, 2009 at 1:54 am […]

  2. Nigel said, on January 6, 2010 at 12:46 am

    Wow… Finally someone on the internet who agrees with me.

    When I was living at home with my parents I never had this problem. It wasn’t until I moved out of home and started eating pre-made meals, highly processed crap and pretty much a big lack of any fibre.

    From years 20 – 28, I went from being 85kg to 125kg… Through these years I started to develop these headaches. At first I thought that it was because I didn’t eat breakfast. Whenever I felt a headache coming on, normally in the morning, I would have something to eat and it would go away. I didn’t pay attention to when I did a number 2.

    It wasn’t until a friend who was studying a health related subject in UNI suggested it could be because of not relieving yourself, that I found the answer. “Go punch out a turd” were the exact words he used… and so I did. An “INSTANT” wave of relief came over me while sitting in the toilet cubicle @ work. And when I say instant, I mean instant while I was still sitting on the toilet. This was the fix I had been looking for and the fix that 90% of the time works.

    In the last 12 months, I have been eating incredibly well. 70% of my meals are green vegies. I’ve been going to the gym 2 times a day. I’ve got my weight back down to 93kgs so far. I have not had 1 headache throughout this time. I’ve been going to the bathroom 3 times a day and the output has been a solid good looking turd.

    This Christmas I thought I would enjoy myself and let my hair down… I ate all sorts of crap for 3 weeks and minimal fibre. Bad MOVE… I had my first headache on Sunday and my second today.

    You gotta change your eating habits, eat your greens and get at least 45mins of sweaty exercise going each day… Then in most cases you will start pumping out stinky goodness like a sausage maker… At least that’s been my experience.

    I wish you good luck to your new life without crippling headaches!!!!

  3. sheryl said, on September 26, 2010 at 1:27 am

    I also googled migraine and poop to get here. I had a different theory, but it goes with the rest of the posts. I never feel consipated, but always felt better after pooping. (Usually hard followed by diarrhea). I think its due or partially due to an imballance of fluid in the body, because when I take midol which has a medicine to take away extra fluid in the body and gatorde which hydrates, I am able to poop and feel much better after.

  4. Mags said, on February 2, 2011 at 11:01 pm

    I am after finding this site through googling and I couldn’t agree more with what you guys are saying. I have been having headaches for as long as I can remember. I was in hospital when I was 10 years of age and they did tests and found nothing wrong. I am now 43 years of age and have been having headaches ever since. I have had a CT scan done and they found nothing wrong. I have said many times that I am constipated when I get headaches and I was told things like watch your diet, eat more fibre and drink more water. The whole thing is very frustrating. I have lost count of the number of times that I had to cancel engagements because I had a “headache”. I also notice that my breath is very smelly when I have a headache. I am therefore convinced that the headache has certainly got something to do with the constipation. I have just spent the day in bed, swallowed lots of painkillers and am feeling some ease now. I always feel drained for a few days afterwards too. I can’t bear to do anything except go to bed and sleep in a dark, quiet room when I get these headaches. They have ruined so many years of my life. I really wish someone would pay attention to us. Thanks for reading guys.

  5. http://yahoo.com said, on February 10, 2013 at 2:34 am

    I personally Feel posting, “Constipation and Migraines The Kinked Hose”
    was in fact really good! Icannot agree together with you
    more! At last looks like I reallylocated a web-site very well
    worth browsing. Thanks for the post, Chet

  6. Elsa said, on March 20, 2013 at 6:20 pm

    At some point about 10 years ago I noticed a connection between “regularity” and migraine events for me. I noticed that I would never ever have diarrhea and a migraine at the same time, so I began to consume copious amounts of fiber. Last thing before bed, I would down a few bowls of Bran Buds and milk. It had the highest fiber content I could find and if I ate my fiber I would not have a migraine the next day. I also used senna regularly, and even stock-piled a little because it was grown in Egypt alone, and Middle East stability did not seem like something I should depend on.

    But things changed for me in a big way.

    About 3 years ago, my dear sister-in-law, developed severe troubles with both her large and small intestines. I suspected that she abused laxatives and I had to admit that I did not really know if I was doing the right thing with all this fiber and irritating senna. I knew no one else was eating this much fiber. I was also worried about the migraine connection to strokes and I wanted to find a solution before my three daughters started getting migraines, as well. :(

    I began to do a lot of research.

    I found that many health issues can be brought on by magnesium deficiency. Magnesium can relax the colon, and the neck/shoulder, and other muscles, so that my body can function well without all that fiber. I read that the fiber levels I was ingesting could have actually been building a new sort of damage to my colon and my gut, in general.

    Please do a search on magnesium. Dr. Carolyn Dean, Dr. Joseph Mercola, GreenMedInfo.com, and others will give you lots of information and direct you to the best supplement forms of magnesium and the ways it will help you. When you get too much magnesium, you will experience loose stools. (Too much vitamin C also results in loose stools.) These two can be very safe supplements.

    I now take Carlson’s Chelated magnesium. It contains magnesium glycinate chelate at 200mg per tablet, 3-4 each day, more, if needed.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

